Happy International Book Giving Day!

You might already have been wished Happy Valentines Day, but maybe I am the first to wish you a Happy International Book Giving Day! This takes place on 14th February each year and aims to get books into the hands of as many children as possible. If you’d like to help celebrate you could give a book to a friend or family member, leave a book in a waiting room for children to read, or donate a used book, in good condition, to a local library, hospital or shelter. If you don’t have a suitable book to hand, there are many charities such as Book Aid International which would welcome your support.

I’ve also just found out today about a Crowdfunder to set up an international Directory of Independent Publishers. The founders want to make it possible for readers to discover exciting new titles, for writers to discover publishers that align with their interests, and for publishers to reach them.

I’ve enjoyed the gift of reading all my life and I want to pass it on. These two initiatives are a great way to do that.

45 thoughts on “Happy International Book Giving Day!

  1. Jill February 14, 2017 / 15:32

    Can’t say that I’ve ever been wished happy International Book Giving Day. A first for everything. You sparked something inside me Anabel. Thank you! We have tons of children’s books that my kids have outgrown and now I have more ideas about their new home 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna February 14, 2017 / 16:35

    Thanks, Anabel – I didn’t know that such a day existed. I am going upstairs to gather some gently used children’s books now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anabel Marsh February 14, 2017 / 17:01

      Thanks – the more people know about this the better!

      Like

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge February 14, 2017 / 16:35

    Books any day are the best gift – especially for children and those who remember childhood.
    Still I wold prefer International Book Giving Day be awarded it’s own special space so as not to get lost in the sugar and tossed quickly aside. It’s too important to not be given full attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. the eternal traveller February 14, 2017 / 20:00

    What a lovely idea. Most of my daughters’ childhood books are now in my classroom and my students love reading them. The pleasure goes on and on…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Su Leslie February 14, 2017 / 20:03

    Thank you Anabel; I didn’t know about this. I shouldn’t need an excuse to share books, but since you’ve given me the perfect one, I’m off to spend the Valentine’s Day budget (Big T is away and seems to have totally forgotten anyway) on a a few Kiwi classic kids books for my local Refuge.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Su Leslie February 14, 2017 / 20:29

        It’s not so much forgetting as ignoring, but since I’m a sentimental soul I’ve tended to “do” Valentine’s Day in the past. But hey, any excuse to go to the wonderful independent kids’ bookshop and revisit some of the books my son loved when he was little is a good one. It distresses me how many little kids now don’t seem to have books or read.

        Like

  6. Helen C February 14, 2017 / 20:19

    Thank you, Anabel. I didn’t know it either. Is it possible that you invented this? Ha!
    Seriously, whoever came up with this idea deserve a big award!
    Have a great day.

    Like

  7. kethuprofumo February 14, 2017 / 20:59

    Dear Anabel,

    thank you! I recommend you Samuel Butler’s ‘Elephant on the Moon’ satire. It’s brilliant and very funny.

    Best regards,

    Maria

    Like

  8. Birgit February 14, 2017 / 22:24

    Books were everything to me growing up. I could disappear into the pages so I always believe in giving books because they are treasures

    Like

  9. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy February 15, 2017 / 02:33

    My brother did Teach for America here – it’s a program to get people into bad schools in the hopes of improving them. Among the many striking things about the lives of the kids he taught was how few of them had ever owned a single book, let alone the many, many books I grew up with. He collected books for them that year, so that everyone could have a book of their very own – most of them for the first time.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 15, 2017 / 07:37

      That’s a wonderful thing to do. It would be the same here – many homes with out books – and as more and more libraries closed another avenue to reading is blocked 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sarah Ferguson and Choppy February 16, 2017 / 13:22

        Considering reading really does take kids out of their own world for a while, it’s just awful that those kids who probably could use that escape are closed from it through no fault of their own.

        As for celebrating the day, I think that would be an excellent idea!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Bespoke Traveler February 15, 2017 / 05:22

    There seems to be a day for everything under the sun, but this one truly makes me smile. Thank you and in honor of International Book Giving Day I am looking forward to donating some books.

    Like

  11. hilarymb February 15, 2017 / 10:30

    Books are wonderful aren’t they … thanks for letting us know about these links … I’m happy giving books away – mine go to the local hospice charity … and I really must do more … thanks for reminding us of ‘the day’ other than a Valentine … cheers Hilary

    Like

  12. BeckyB February 15, 2017 / 11:00

    Well you are the first to wish me this! What a fabulous idea . . . will tell my hubby as might be something their bookshop could do next year

    Like

      • BeckyB February 15, 2017 / 13:00

        well thank you so much for bringing it to our attention 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Ann Coleman February 15, 2017 / 22:40

    I’ve never heard of that, but think it’s a terrific idea!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 15, 2017 / 23:01

      A few more people know about it now – including you – so I’m really glad I wrote about it!

      Like

  14. Kathleen Jennette February 16, 2017 / 00:07

    I think I will be a couple days late on that but sure will do a donation! Never knew about this date and think it is a wonderful idea. Thanks for passing it along.

    Like

  15. joylovestravel February 16, 2017 / 13:51

    Never heard of this Anabel but what a great idea. We already donate our books – we get through a huge number in our house – and like you say, anything that can pass on the gift of reading is a truly great thing.

    Like

  16. RuthsArc February 17, 2017 / 10:51

    What a lovely idea. I’m a few days late reading this but will donate this month. Thanks for this post Anabel.

    Like

  17. Green Global Trek February 17, 2017 / 18:03

    What a fabulous idea. I love the idea of sharing, bartering and passing along something no longer needed, to someone else who will further enjoy it.
    Peta

    Like

  18. Blue Sky Scotland February 19, 2017 / 14:13

    I’m a bit late for the book day but I’ve just read a children’s book called ‘Flood and Fire’ for a second time by Emily Diamand , a Times Children’s Fiction Winner as it’ s an enjoyable read for both adults and children, likewise Simon Mayo’s ‘Itch’ about a schoolboy element hunter. I keep all the best books I’ve read but it’s a shame they are dying out in paper form but publisher’s these days, because of online competition, are mainly interested in books they think will make a sure profit for them and I’ve read a few articles that if you are an unsolicited author, like myself, and you submit an un-requested new manuscript it’s got one in a thousand chance of being read or accepted for print which is the main reason I opted for Kindle self publishing. There was a guy recently who had two best sellers out in print but it took him ten long years of trying to eventually get them noticed by a publisher and printed up. I didn’t want to wait that long. Mind you, vinyl records are making something of a comeback these days so maybe books will as well.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh February 19, 2017 / 16:25

      I still buy paper books – and online books – and borrow them from the library, it just depends on circumstances at the time. I hope real books never die out – I don’t mind online for a novel I’m unlikely to read again, but some books I want to treasure.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

