Rocky Mountain to Denver

Lily Lake

On our way out of Rocky Mountain National Park we stopped for a walk round the delightful Lily Lake. Our stay had been all too short.

From here we drove to Nederland where we had a coffee on the balcony of Happy Trails and people-watched for a while.

Our guidebook described Nederland as a lively, ramshackle mountain-town magnet for hippies – and we had to agree, even though we were there at the wrong time of year for either Nedfest or Frozen Dead Guy Days. Yes, really. The term Ned has other connotations for us anyway – in Scotland it’s a derogatory term meaning a non-educated delinquent!

After a stroll round town and down the creek to the reservoir, we returned to our car which was parked opposite the library. That looked the best building in the place to me – how wonderful to have a reading area on a balcony over a stream! Unfortunately, it was closed or I’d have dragged John in for a visit.

Our final stop was Boulder, somewhere which would repay a much longer visit. We had a picnic lunch in Chautauqua Park near the Flatirons before stopping off in town where we particularly admired the Court House.

After that it was straight on to Denver and the beautiful Capitol Hill Mansion B&B. The Bluebell Room was gorgeous ….

…. we even had a sun-porch which gave us our own private entrance to the house ….

…. the exterior of which was equally spectacular ….

…. and to cap it all, there was a delightful garden in which to have breakfast.

So this was our luxury home for the next four nights! Only three more posts and then I will finally have finished blogging about our Summer 2016 road trip.

37 thoughts on “Rocky Mountain to Denver

  1. edgar62 March 27, 2017 / 10:56

    Looks beautiful I have a friend in Colorado and it is a lovely place. Different from “The Dear Green Place” I liked the Capitol Hill Mansion B & B – very relaxing looking – nice to relax with something wet, alcoholic, Scottish and 22 years old.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 27, 2017 / 11:19

      It is different, especially the weather! But we wouldn’t be in such a dear green place of it wasn’t for the rain of course.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 27, 2017 / 12:34

      I always book these trips early in the year and I must have decided to finish somewhere spectacular – then forgot so that it came as a surprise when we arrived how amazing it was!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jemima Pett March 27, 2017 / 12:18

    Always wanted to go to Boulder. I don’t think I ever did, though. Don’t remember spending much time in Denver, either, although I did have a nice stay in Colorado Springs, which I recommend.

    Like

  3. hilarymb March 27, 2017 / 15:53

    Hi Anabel – you were certainly travelling … I’ll remember NED for it stands for now! That B&B looks amazing and quite incredible … enticing me once again … cheers HIlary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 27, 2017 / 17:31

      Getting my blogging friends speaking Glaswegian one post at a time…..
      🙂

      Like

  4. Donna March 27, 2017 / 18:39

    A library with a reading area on an outdoor balcony overlooking a stream? Tell me that I could also have a coffee while reading there and that would spell absolute heaven to me!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 27, 2017 / 20:00

      As we couldn’t get in I can’t be sure of their policy – but I’m sure they ought to allow coffee!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. the eternal traveller March 27, 2017 / 21:42

    So now if I call someone Ned, they won’t know what I’m thinking! Your accommodation looks amazing. What a lovely touch of luxury.

    Like

  6. Birgit March 28, 2017 / 02:30

    This looks like a really nice place to visit and I had to laugh at what Ned means in Scotland. That B&B looks so beautiful…I love the whole look of that place

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 28, 2017 / 07:41

      I knew the word ned for ages before realising it actually stood for something! The b&b was perfect, lovely owners too.

      Like

  7. Su Leslie March 28, 2017 / 03:36

    I agree with you about the library. If that were my local, they’d have to chuck me out at closing time. And your B&B looks totally stunning.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 28, 2017 / 07:47

      It was, and very well positioned to for getting into the city. Serious library envy – puts our local library in the shade (horrible 60s edifice, but the service is good).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Su Leslie March 28, 2017 / 20:25

        Auckland Council has spent some serious money on new libraries in the last few years, replacing “horrible 60s” buildings with some architecturally interesting buildings. They definitely have better natural light, but I’m not convinced a few aren’t a bit “form over function”.

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh March 28, 2017 / 20:43

          Probably still better than the UK where many libraries close or are run by volunteers.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Su Leslie March 28, 2017 / 20:59

            Yes; we do seem to have recognised the importance of libraries, unlike other councils in NZ.

            Liked by 1 person

  8. Lynne Rickards March 28, 2017 / 09:25

    Capitol Hill Mansion looks like it was built with Scottish sandstone! It reminds me of the big Victorian mansions in Toronto that have the same eclectic mixture of turrets and towers and verandahs. The Toronto ones definitely are made of Scottish stone, including the old City Hall and Provincial Parliament building. I wonder if you saw any decorative cast iron at Capitol Hill Mansion? That would likely have come from Glasgow!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 28, 2017 / 10:34

      I didn’t notice any, and I’ve been through the pictures I didn’t use, but that’s interesting! I do love a turret and look with envy at some in the West End.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ann Coleman March 28, 2017 / 14:23

    What a lovely bed and breakfast! And Nederland certainly looks worth a visit.

    Like

  10. BeckyB March 29, 2017 / 10:36

    My that’s a rather wonderful B&B . . .. and hee hee I learnt something new about Neds.

    Like

  11. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) March 29, 2017 / 20:56

    Love the look of that B&B; one of my dreams is to live in a Victorian mansion with a turret! I also really want to attend the Frozen Dead Guy Days now that I know it exists. Any festival that has its own, themed ice cream is OK by me (apparently it is blue ice cream with crushed Oreos and gummi worms, which I would definitely eat because I have the taste buds of a five year old (not literally, which I feel I should point out given the subject matter!)).

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 29, 2017 / 21:34

      I have serious turret envy too! The Dead Guy Days sound fun – but that ice cream is revolting……

      Like

      • Jessica (Diverting Journeys) March 29, 2017 / 21:46

        Whenever I got frozen yogurt as a kid, my go-to was always strawberry frogurt with oreos and gummi bears, so it sounds right up my alley! But my mother won’t eat strawberry ice cream to this day because she’d have to eat my leftovers (when I was really little…when I got older I wasn’t sharing ice cream with anyone!), so I get that it’s not to everyone’s taste!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Liesbet March 30, 2017 / 16:11

    What a wonderful room you had in Denver. Colorado is so spectacular and diverse as well. We would like to have a longer term house sit near Boulder one day, ideally in summer. Just too many places that are gorgeous in summer in this country… Lucky you with all that nice weather and blue skies. 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh March 30, 2017 / 17:03

      Boulder would be lovely! I found it too hot though – I’m a sensitive northern flower 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. claudiabookwright May 19, 2017 / 17:46

    They had more than 18 inches of snow in Nederland yesterday (May 18.) We had probably 5 inches, but down here it melted as it fell so the roads were never snow packed. I’m glad to know what ‘Ned’ means in Scotland. I must say, I’ve only ever known one guy named Ned. Though well enough educated, he’d otherwise be appropriately named by the Scottish definition.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 19, 2017 / 22:30

      18 inches! Is that normal for this time of year? It doesn’t sound it.

      The only Ned I remember is from when I was a little girl and Ned Norman was the town butcher. A cheerful type and not at all neddish.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

