Denver Botanic Gardens

Denver Botanic Gardens

Denver has one of the top-ranked botanical gardens in the US – as our flight wasn’t until the evening, we were able to spend several happy hours there on the day we went home from last summer’s road trip.

My botanical knowledge is rudimentary to say the least, so I haven’t attempted to caption any of the photos in the next two galleries. Click on anything you like the look of to enlarge or start a slide-show.

Possibly my favourite part was the Monet Pool: water lilies galore.

While we were there, the gardens were hosting Stories in Sculpture – 13 pieces from the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis. If you are observant, you will count 14 sculptures below – the gardens have their own collection and I’ve included one example from it (Dale Chihuly’s Colorado, the first image). If you click on this gallery you’ll find it is, unlike the others, labelled – the sculptor as the title, and the name of the piece in the caption.

There is a bistro in the gardens, which we didn’t try, and a café which we visited for morning coffee and lunch, both good, so you could easily spend all day in there. We had a short time left before we needed to leave for the airport and popped into the neighbouring Cheesman Park.

Then we had to go home after three wonderful weeks touring Colorado, Wyoming and Montana. My first post about it was published on September 29, 2016, so it has been seven months in the writing. I’ll need to speed up, because I certainly don’t want to do any less travelling!

Next – Budapest.

63 thoughts on “Denver Botanic Gardens

  1. maristravels April 17, 2017 / 13:16

    Superb pictures. Like you, my knowledge of botany is not much, but I am just as happy not knowing! The weight of so many Latin names weighing down what’s left of my brain would be too much to cope with, so thank you for the colour and the beauty.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2017 / 18:34

      Exactly, we can appreciate the beauty without knowing its exact name!

      Like

  2. Liesbet April 17, 2017 / 16:07

    What a wonderful burst of color. And, a beautiful way to end your three week adventure in the American West.

    Like

  3. claudiabookwright April 17, 2017 / 18:59

    Flowers and sculpture. Sculpture and flowers. What more could one ask for? Thank you and John for the beautiful photos!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2017 / 19:35

      One could ask for nothing more! Glad you liked the post. He’s not bad with the camera.

      Like

  4. clicksclan April 17, 2017 / 19:31

    It looks lovely and you had great weather for it.

    The horse sculpture reminds me of a bull one in the botanic gardens in Wales.

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

  5. Heyjude April 17, 2017 / 20:17

    What a fabulous way to spend your last day, relaxing and full of beauty. I’d love to see some of Chihuly’s work – bit expensive for me though!

    Like

  6. Su Leslie April 17, 2017 / 20:36

    What lovely photos Anabel. It does look like the sort of place I could happily spend a day. I’m fascinated that all the sculptures (except the Chihuly) look like bronzes. I guess I’m used to outdoor sculptures being made from a much wider range of materials. Was the exhibition specifically of bronzes do you know?

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 17, 2017 / 21:24

      That hadn’t struck me before, but obviously you’re right. I went back to look at the website and it just says “selection of sculptures” with no mention of material.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Su Leslie April 17, 2017 / 22:03

        🙂 Bronze is a really expensive material, so not many artists here can afford to make big works. I’m used to seeing little, indoor, bronzes, so it was quite exciting to look at your photos.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Donna April 18, 2017 / 02:37

    LOVE the gardens and the sculptures. What a brilliant way to end this trip.
    I’m now packed and ready for Budapest!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2017 / 07:37

      The whole thing was wonderful! Budapest coming along slowly…..

      Like

  8. Kathleen Jennette April 18, 2017 / 03:57

    You really got some great beauty shots! What a gorgeous day that looked like. I look at those photos and realize how much I still have to do in my garden.

    Like

  9. Lynne Rickards April 18, 2017 / 09:24

    I love botanical gardens and this one looks particularly stunning! My daughter is in Melbourne this week and they have a beautiful example too. That spiky orange thing also rang some bells – I did a blog post on the work of Dale Chihuly a while back and it’s very distinctive!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2017 / 10:31

      Yes, I remember your post! This was a particularly stunning garden – Glasgow Botanics will never compete!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. the eternal traveller April 18, 2017 / 09:52

    Aren’t those giant lily pads amazing. What a wonderful post to finish off your adventure.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 18, 2017 / 10:34

      They are! We had seen lily ponds in other places but none of them were flowering so this was a glorious finale.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Ellen April 18, 2017 / 13:01

    You guys do such a great job photographing the flowers and plants!

    Like

  12. susan@onesmallwalk April 18, 2017 / 16:14

    Botanic Gardens are my favorite, and I rarely know the names of anything I see. Wonderful photos. So glad the trip was enjoyable 🙂

    Like

  13. Ann Coleman April 18, 2017 / 16:37

    We are thinking seriously of visiting Denver this summer. Based on your photos, this garden is on our must see list!

    Like

  14. sulewath April 18, 2017 / 19:29

    I loved the water lilies and all those bright colours have cheered up a wintry day in Scotland!

    Like

  15. Blue Sky Scotland April 19, 2017 / 00:34

    Lovely photos. For me the real green jewels of any town or city are its parks and gardens and I always try to visit them if time allows. Always the problem if you post trips away online are the photos. Apart from sorting them all out they do take up huge space on the computer and I,m always clearing them into external files to create more space for new ones..

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 19, 2017 / 07:33

      I know, and it’s so difficult to choose which Ines to use!

      Like

  16. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) April 19, 2017 / 19:39

    I know of Dale Chihuly! He did an infamous “rock candy” sculpture on the campus of my undergraduate alma mater, the University of Akron. I’m sure his work is more welcome at a sculpture park/garden, but his rock candy (which I don’t think is even supposed to be rock candy, but that’s exactly what it looks like) is seen as a joke at the U of A. I was a student at the time it was made, and we were all pretty upset that half a million dollars had been blown on something so stupid!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 19, 2017 / 21:29

      That does seem extravagant for a university! The other place I’ve seen his work is Las Vegas and it probably fits in better there…..

      Like

  17. Marcia Strykowski April 19, 2017 / 21:59

    I love botanic gardens and these look beautiful! The Chihuly piece looks especially nice in this setting, love the other sculptures, too.

    Like

  18. Sarah Ferguson and Choppy April 20, 2017 / 16:41

    Stunning pictures! Funny enough, I have a picture of myself with one of those sculptures – but when it was back home at the Walker in Minneapolis! (It’s Walking Man, in case you’re wondering.)

    Like

      • Sarah Ferguson and Choppy April 20, 2017 / 17:15

        I recall seeing the horse when I was there, but my sister and I took numerous pics with the Walking Man – something about him inspired us to lots of posing!

        Like

  19. BeckyB April 21, 2017 / 08:50

    What stunning gardens, and a wonderful end to what has been an incredible adventure. Has it really been 7 months since we have been travelling with you in the good ole US of A. Wow! Been so much fun 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 21, 2017 / 09:05

      I know, it’s been very spread out because I just couldn’t seem to get on with it somehow. Now need to start sorting the Budapest pictures and hopefully not take 7 months to write that up!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. restlessjo April 25, 2017 / 08:30

    ‘Without words’ is very striking. I like your style, because I started out thinking I don’t caption plants for just the same reason (it’s Jude’s job, isn’t it? 🙂 🙂 ). But then I do like captions and don’t use them nearly so much as I used to. I love the sensuality of a good garden though and this one is beautiful. Yes- have to get a wiggle on, but then, so much of the pleasure is looking back and remembering. 🙂 Have a happy week, Annabel (and keep warm!)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 25, 2017 / 08:37

      I’d rather leave off a caption than just put Bird or Flower which is about the level of my knowledge, but on the whole, I do try to title and caption pictures just for my own satisfaction so that I remember exactly what they are. Too many senior moments otherwise!

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Birgit May 2, 2017 / 05:27

    Is that really a flowering plant in the vivid red and yellow? Your pictures are just stunning!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh May 2, 2017 / 07:52

      That’s probably the sculpture you’re looking at. All credit to John for the pictures.

      Like

  22. jazzfeathers May 6, 2017 / 09:09

    Beautiful place.
    I like the sculpures, but I like the flowers a lot more. Some of them are so unusual.

    That’s been a lot of blogging, that’s true, but you had a wonderful experience to share and I’m happy I had the chance to see such nice places… if only vicariously.
    Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  23. corinnevail July 13, 2017 / 16:00

    I’ve never been to these gardens…but those flower photos are stunning!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

