Glasgow Gallivanting: July 2017

Over the last few months, I’ve been taking part in a project at Glasgow Women’s Library to research the women associated with the Belvidere Fever Hospital in the East End of Glasgow around the time of the First World War. There isn’t much detail in the records, so the idea was to use our imaginations to create a series of dramatic monologues around our chosen women. On the 4th of July, this came to fruition with a performance and a book, both called Voices from the Belvidere, bringing to life fascinating stories of laundry maids who ran away, nurses who caught fever after fever, and the rare women doctors who followed their calling against all odds. My contribution was called The Zombie Ward: some day, with more time, I might tell you its story. In the meantime, here’s my protagonist, Nurse Watt, who caught my eye smiling in the centre of the picture above.

Happy birthday to me!

60th birthday in Jasper

My birthday is in July, and 2017 was a big one. 60! I can’t quite believe it. I celebrated on vacation in Canada, and here I am with some of my cards – from the three people who managed to send one in advance, and John who made me stand outside a shop in Canmore, Alberta, while he selected his.

Lake Louise

As I spent most of July in the Canadian Rockies, including Lake Louise as seen above, and I intend to blog much more about that later, it doesn’t leave a great deal of Glasgow Gallivanting to write about. So that’s it for this month – except to say that I hope you’ve had a great July too.

74 thoughts on “Glasgow Gallivanting: July 2017

  1. the eternal traveller July 31, 2017 / 11:13

    Happy Birthday! Mine is in July too, so it’s been a great month. Looking forward to reading all about Canada.

    Like

  2. karen207 July 31, 2017 / 11:31

    Happy birthday, Anabel. I’m so glad you got to enjoy a special birthday in a beautiful part of my country. Looking forward to your take on it.

    Congratulations on the publication. ‘The Zombie Ward’ is an unexpected title. I hope to read the book or see the performance if it is taken on the road.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 12:29

      Thank you for the birthday wishes. I was pleased with the title, I have to say! There is some talk of performing in a local old people’s home but I don’t think we’ll be doing a national tour 😉

      Like

  3. Jemima Pett July 31, 2017 / 11:31

    Happy birthday!! Looking forward to hearing more about your Canada trip (and re-living mine!)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 12:31

      Thanks Jemima! It might take a while – the usual problem of so many photos to sift through.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. TanGental July 31, 2017 / 11:48

    We loved Jasper and Lake Louise and that opalescent lake water. Happy belated birthday.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 12:32

      Thank you! We loved them too – though noticed that everywhere seemed much busier than our last trip 10 years ago.

      Liked by 1 person

        • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 16:26

          We went at the same time of year 10 years ago – as someone else has said it’s Canada’s 150th birthday and all the parks were free!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Heyjude July 31, 2017 / 12:32

    Happy special birthday!! And what a wonderful place to celebrate it in. I love Canada and look forward to reading your posts about your trip. The project sounds fascinating so I hope you will tell us more about it in time.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 12:58

      Thank you Jude! I plan to put my (very short) piece from the project on the blog eventually. Everything’s all a bit of a rush at the moment after just getting back from holiday.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heyjude July 31, 2017 / 14:32

        Plenty of time. I still have posts to write from last September!

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 15:01

          I hope to avoid that this year! It took me months to write up last year’s road trip. I do still have some posts from May too, but I might leave them for later.

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Susan at FindingNYC July 31, 2017 / 12:54

    Happy birthday! I have a July birthday as well. I look forward to hearing about your Canadian adventures!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 13:00

      Thanks! It’s a nice time of year to have a birthday. I’m nearly always on holiday.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. SightLines July 31, 2017 / 13:07

    I’m getting caught up with your posts (I have a lot of reading to do – must put on kettle…)
    anyway, happy belated birthday.
    looking forward to reading about your trip to Banff etc … of course, it was busy – all the National Parks are free this year for the 150th!!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 14:22

      Hello, and thank you! Your comment had gone to moderation. Yes, I suppose this would explain the extra busy- ness. Happy birthday to Canada too,

      Like

  8. Achim Spengler July 31, 2017 / 13:09

    Happy birthday, Anabel. And please, please tell us more about the Rockies, especially about Lake Louise, which I saw in 1980 for the last time.

    Best regards

    Achim

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 14:23

      Thank you. I will get on with it soon! Lake Louise is still beautiful, you will not be surprised to hear……

      Like

  9. Su Leslie July 31, 2017 / 13:51

    Happy Birthday Anabel. What a wonderful place to celebrate.Hope you had a fabulous time.

    I love the idea of creating monologues to give voice to the long-dead. So many people leave such a light trace on the archival record that without imagination, their lives would be totally forgotten.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 14:25

      Thank you! We had a lovely time. Yes, we didn’t have much to go on – just names, sometimes a photograph and sometimes a caustic comment from the matron in the log books.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Liesbet July 31, 2017 / 15:02

    Happy belated and special birthday, Anabel, and what a wonderful place to celebrate. I always wished I had a summer birthday. 🙂 I am intrigued with all those courageous women you mentioned. So many untold stories of the past. I’m looking forward to a glimpse into the life of your “chosen one”.

    Like

  11. maristravels July 31, 2017 / 15:04

    Happy birthday, Anabel, and many more spent in far-flung places. So glad you’re enjoying Canada and that your birthday was celebrated in style.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 15:24

      Thank you! I can’t complain about a three week celebration in Canada ……

      Like

  12. Pit July 31, 2017 / 15:22

    A belated but all the more heartfelt Happy Birthday to you, Anabel!

    Like

  13. Birgit July 31, 2017 / 15:40

    Congrats on the publication and your inspiration. It is always great to learn more about the people that gave history. Happy Birthday!!!!it must have been great celebrating it in the Rockies. I know this is belated but hope your birthday was a great one

    Like

  14. Blue Sky Scotland July 31, 2017 / 15:41

    Happy Birthday.

    Like

  15. ms6282 July 31, 2017 / 20:44

    Happy birthday 🎂🍾
    At least you’re younger than me – but only just! 😉

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh July 31, 2017 / 22:16

      Thank you! It’s sobering to reach an age that I used to think was ancient. But 60 must be the new 40 or something. Must be.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Candia July 31, 2017 / 22:18

    Happy significant birthday. Lake Louise a good choice for celebration. Haven’t been to Canada, but am familiar with it through friends who have been there, or who are Canadian. Look forward to your posts.

    Like

  17. Kathleen Jennette August 1, 2017 / 01:43

    Happy Birthday Anabel! A fellow July birthday girl too! I hope we get to read a bit on your nurse. Sounds very interesting.

    Like

  18. Green Global Trek August 1, 2017 / 13:35

    Well happy 60th Anabel!!! A milestone birthday to celebrate! Lake Louise looks absolutely beautiful!

    Peta

    Like

  19. Marcia Strykowski August 1, 2017 / 15:06

    Happy Birthday, Anabel! (I’m a July birthday, too–7/30). Your historical project about Nurse Watt sounds fun!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 1, 2017 / 16:17

      Oh, finding several July birthdays amongst my blogging friends! Happy birthday to you too.

      Like

  20. Ann Coleman August 1, 2017 / 16:00

    Happy 60th birthday! And I think a vacation in Canada is a wonderful way to celebrate, even if you don’t get many cards. (I’m turning 60 next year, and might have to steal your idea. I’ve never been to Canada!)

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 1, 2017 / 16:18

      It’s certainly a lovely place to be for a special time! And there were more cards waiting for me when I got home so I sort of had two birthdays.

      Like

  21. hilarymb August 2, 2017 / 07:35

    Congratulations on the 60th and what a lovely way to celebrate – hopping over the pond and enjoying the Rockies … an amazing part of the world. Been once and would love to visit again … and yes I can see the two birthday syndrome arriving … lovely. The story line at the Library must have been a fun project to be involved in … many Scots travelled west away from their homeland. Cheers Hilary

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 2, 2017 / 08:04

      Thank you! Hope you get to the Rockies again someday, they are so beautiful.

      Like

  22. Thom Hickey August 2, 2017 / 09:15

    Congratulations on all fronts Annabelle!

    Always look forward to visiting here.

    Regards Thom

    Like

  23. Jessica (Diverting Journeys) August 2, 2017 / 14:43

    Happy belated birthday Anabel! Your Belvidere Field Hospital project sounds absolutely fascinating; I hope you decide to share the story of the Zombie Ward with us sometime!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 2, 2017 / 15:30

      Thank you. There were plenty of medical horrors described at the event – I’m sure you’d have enjoyed it!

      Liked by 1 person

  24. restlessjo August 3, 2017 / 21:19

    Sounds like an interesting project, Anabel. 🙂 🙂 Sorry to have missed your birthday. 60 years young is not so bad 🙂

    Like

  25. Ellen @ The Cynical Sailor August 4, 2017 / 12:55

    Happy birthday! What a great way to celebrate – traveling in Canada. I definitely want to hear more about the Zombie Ward.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 4, 2017 / 19:07

      Thank you! Have come back down to earth with a bump now.

      Like

  26. Donna August 5, 2017 / 20:21

    Happy Birthday, Anabel! I look forward to reading your post about your travels in the Canadian Rockies! I’d also LOVE to read your story about the Zombie Ward!!

    Like

  27. BeckyB August 6, 2017 / 16:33

    A very belated but a very Happy Bday to an obviously incredibly young 60year old!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 6, 2017 / 18:52

      Thank you, very flattering, you can visit again please!

      Like

  28. Denzil August 7, 2017 / 11:00

    Happy belated birthday Anabel. May your next decade be full of good health and fun blogs.

    Like

  29. jazzfeathers August 16, 2017 / 08:51

    Happy belated birthday, Anabel! I’m so sorry I missed this post and yoru birthday.
    But what a beautiful present, a trip to Canada 😉

    And I’m sorry, but you can’t do that! I mean, introducing such interesting theme (women and WWI) and then leave us like that. With nothing. That’s not fair!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh August 16, 2017 / 10:28

      Thank you! Today I am 60 and 1 month exactly.

      I hope to expand on the Zombie Ward story soon.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

