Gallus Glasgow A: the Armadillo

By Ross Goodman (originally posted to Flickr as DSC_6974) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By Ross Goodman (originally posted to Flickr as DSC_6974) CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0) via Wikimedia Commons
That’s the Armadillo above. It’s real name is the Clyde Auditorium, but you won’t find many Glaswegians calling it that. We’re too gallus. We just love our nicknames, and this building does bear a certain resemblance to an armadillo – what do you think?

By http://www.birdphotos.com (Own work) [CC BY 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By http://www.birdphotos.com (Own work) CC BY 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0), via Wikimedia Commons
Looks aren’t everything of course – and I can also tell you that, in my opinion, the Armadillo has the comfiest seats of any concert venue in Glasgow.

Just along from it is another example of a Glaswegian nickname. This bridge across the river is formally known as the Clyde Arc. Whit?! as we say in these parts. It’s the Squinty Bridge! Obviously.

By Myriam Thyes (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By Myriam Thyes (Own work) CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0), via Wikimedia Commons
Come back for B tomorrow – and bring your dancing shoes.

 

54 thoughts on “Gallus Glasgow A: the Armadillo

    • Anabel Marsh April 1, 2015 / 11:10

      It’s maybe not so apparent from that picture, but if you look closely the arch starts on one side of the road and ends on the other, so it has a sideways twist or squint.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 1, 2015 / 18:10

      I’m stuck in a place with lousy Internet access and I can’t get a comment on your blog. But my answer is Aslan!

      Like

  1. Heyjude April 1, 2015 / 11:52

    I see a slight resemblance to the Sydney Opera House.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 1, 2015 / 16:57

      Yes, though nothing like as grand! The Sage in Gateshead also comes to mind.

      Like

  2. clicksclan April 1, 2015 / 12:19

    I’m visiting through the A to Z Challenge list but I think I’ll definitely be stopping by again. I live on the Isle of Bute, so I’m familiar with the Armadillo and the Squinty Bridge. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what else you post.

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 1, 2015 / 17:01

      Thanks for visiting!. Probably nothing too surprising for you coming up, but you never know!

      Like

  3. Rhonda Albom April 1, 2015 / 12:30

    Really interesting looking building that armadillo. We have one in New Zealand nicknamed “beehive” (It’s not my B).

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 1, 2015 / 17:02

      Ah, so we’re not the only ones with nicknames! Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  4. Nadine April 1, 2015 / 16:25

    Oh, this is funny! I lived for 30 years in Texas where we saw real armadillos frequently…so when I saw your headline, I thought, “What???” You got me. Great nickname! It suits the building.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 1, 2015 / 17:05

      It does! No, we don’t have any real armadillos – I don’t think I’ve ever actually seen one.

      Like

  5. amybovai April 1, 2015 / 18:59

    Anabel,
    I loved Glasgow, and observing how houses and buildings had names, unlike the United States. Just seems to regal. This was interesting to learn about the nicknames of these two places!
    Thanks,
    Amy

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 1, 2015 / 19:15

      Glad you loved Glasgow! I’m biased of course, but it’s a great city.

      Like

  6. Birgit April 1, 2015 / 19:50

    Great name for the building. It must be in homage to the Sydney Opera house.

    Like

  7. KaTy Did April 1, 2015 / 20:20

    Metal to metal. Love the resemblance.

    Like

  8. Sean @ His and Her Hobbies April 1, 2015 / 20:45

    I agree that it looks somewhat like the Sydney Opera House. Though I can also see the resemblance to the Armadillo. I have only seen an armadillo in the wild once when I was in Central America but it was cool to see it.

    Sean at His and Her Hobbies

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 1, 2015 / 21:28

      I’ve never seen one at all but the picture gives me a good idea.

      Like

  9. johnmarkmiller April 1, 2015 / 22:00

    Beautiful photos! I think it definitely looks like an armadillo!

    Like

  10. vannillarock April 2, 2015 / 00:25

    I love your first A-Z Glasgow entry Anabel. Dancing shoes at the ready though I’ll be a few hours behind as I’m in Arizona for the month(hence my post- and thanks for looking in) love that you gave the squinty bridge a shout out
    Anne

    Like

  11. Marion Ueckermann April 2, 2015 / 01:13

    I recently finished a manuscript set in Glasgow which is under consideration with my publisher. The Armadillo and Squinty Bridge featured in my book. Great seeing them here…brought back memories of my characters’ love story 🙂

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 2, 2015 / 08:56

      Really – how fabulous! Thanks for visiting. I will check out your blog as soon as I can, but I’m in an area with poor reception / weak wifi at the moment and anything other than basic answering of comments is very, very difficult so I’m well behind.

      Like

  12. Celine Jeanjean April 2, 2015 / 01:53

    I’m French (although I grew up in the UK) and one thing I love about the Brits is the tendency to give things and people nicknames – it’s quite a unique thing I think.

    The squinty bridge is a great nickname!

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 2, 2015 / 08:58

      It is! More to come. Thanks for visiting – I’ll make a return visit ASAP but I’m having connection problems at the moment so a bit behind.

      Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 2, 2015 / 09:00

      Ok, I won’t mention one of the struts fell off just after it was built – but it’s fixed now!

      Liked by 1 person

      • njmagas April 2, 2015 / 10:31

        Yup, never crossing that bridge. Although a new bridge was built in my home town and promptly dropped huge chunks of ice on people the following winter. 😛

        Like

        • Anabel Marsh April 2, 2015 / 10:33

          Not good! You’d think these factors would be taken into account.

          Like

          • njmagas April 2, 2015 / 10:35

            You’d think. Trust no one, that’s my motto. 😛

            Like

  13. Sue Archer April 2, 2015 / 01:56

    Definitely an armadillo! Thanks for sharing the great pics. 🙂

    Like

  14. jazzytower April 2, 2015 / 16:24

    Yeahhhh, I see a slight resemblance, maybe a distant cousin:) Nice post.

    Like

  15. Cheryl Wright April 8, 2015 / 16:42

    I think the two armadillo’s are similar. I love the picture of the one on the top. It’s really pretty.

    Like

  16. cassam101 April 14, 2015 / 16:30

    Much more comfy than the SECC.I love that area at night when all the coloured lights are on.

    Like

    • Anabel Marsh April 14, 2015 / 16:51

      It is – the collection of weird shaped buildings is great.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you think!

